Get all your richmond updates in one place!

Subscribe to The Richmond Sentinel

With Jets set to soar, Isles take one final bow

Don Fennell   Jun-04-2018

Seafair player Alex Dengler was selected the winner of the Earl Sinkie Juvenile MVP Award.

Photo submitted

With the newly-minted Richmond Jets about to take flight, the Seafair Islanders took one final bow by netting half of the major awards at the Pacific Coast Amateur Hockey Association annual congress.

Prior to dissolving its membership with the PCAHA, as did Richmond Minor—with which Seafaor has formed the new Richmond-Seafair Minor Hockey Association—Seafair received five awards: President’s Service Award; Gold Puck Award; Bruce Allison Coach of the Year Award; John Ptucha Coach Development Award; and Earl Sinkie Juvenile MVP Award.


The President’s Award recognized Seafair’s efforts to raise funds for BC Children’s Hospital though a head-shaving fundraiser organized by vice-president Cody Kusch.

Seafair president Nigel Shackles was presented the Gold Puck Award for his 10-plus years of service to minor hockey.

Steve Robinson, who coached Seafair’s Bantam A1 team to the provincial and Western Canadian championships earned the Bruce Allison Coach of the Year Award.

Seafair’s coach co-ordinator, Steve Howitt, was recognized with the John Ptucha Coach Development Award.

Alex Dengler, who played for the 2017-18 Seafair Islanders juvenile division team, was selected for the the Earl Sinkie Juvenile MVP Award as the top player in his age group among all the PCAHA teams.

“The day was a bittersweet one for both the Seafair and the Richmond minor hockey associations, as both ended their memberships with the PCAHA,” said Ken Hamaguchi, the longtime executive director at Seafair. “However, with the birth of the Jets, players in the city will all play under one banner.The merger was a long time coming, but it is expected to create a more competitive and harmonious hockey program.”

•Richmond Ravens referee allocator Lolly Gagnon was presented with the PCAHA’s head referee award.

Read Next

Related Story

From Around The Web






Most Popular